Board of Directors

The St. Louis Diabetes Coalition is governed by a Board of Directors whose membership represents a diverse set of stakeholders.  Board seats are held by individuals, not their employers or other designated organizations.

  1. Bill Ackerman – Regional Account Executive, Pfizer Pharmaceuticals
  2. Thor Anderson – Vice President of Medicare, GHP
  3. Eric Armbrecht, PhD – Assistant Professor, Saint Louis University Center for Outcomes Research (SLUCOR); Principal, Open Health LLC; Acting Executive Director
  4. Alan Copenhaver, CPA, MBA – Managing Director, Balhaver Inc., Community Volunteer, Treasurer
  5. Steve Ernst, MBA – Regional Account Executive for Managed Care, Bristol Myers Squibb
  6. Deborah Findley, MPA – Director Physician Services, Primaris
  7. Sharon Hoffarth, MD, MPH – Medical Director, Primaris
  8. William L. Kincaid, MD, MPH, Community Volunteer, Board Chair
  9. Kathleen Haarman, RN, CDE – Diabetes Educator, St. Anthony’s Medical Center (Liaison to St. Louis Association of Diabetes Educators)
  10. Stephen Hadzima, MD – Medical Director (Central Region), Ovations
  11. Susan Maddux, PharmD – Director of Pharmacy, United Healthcare
  12. Kathleen McDarby, RN, MPH – Community Volunteer
  13. Mary A. Palank, Esq. – Attorney, Palank & Associates Attorneys-at-Law, Secretary
  14. Mary Sendobry, MPH – National Account Executive, Novartis
  15. Courtney Spezia, CMCE – Regional Account Executive for Managed Care, sanofi-aventis
  16. Denise Strehlow, RD, MSW, MPH – Director, Visiting Nurse Association St. Louis
  17. Mary Ann (Sumpter) Whitaker – Disease Management Coordinator, GHP
  18. Richard White, MD – Executive Medical Director, Clinical Performance Center, SSM Health Care System
  19. Deborah Zimmerman, MD Chief Medical Officer, Essence Health Plan


Former Board Members (Last Year of Service in Parentheses)

Volyia Senteria (Terry) Plain, MA (2007)
Mary Lawrence, MSN, CDE (2007)
Victoria Gonzalez, MBA (2006)
Curtis Hartin, RPh (2006)
Jerry Royer, MD, MBA (2003), Founding Board Chair